≡ Menu

>Rock ‘N Learn Money and Making Change Review and Giveaway

>Well do you remember a couple of months ago when I had the opportunity to review Rock ‘N Learn Phonics volume 1 and 2? Now Rock ‘N Learn is back once again with a great new educational product. The Money and Making Change dvd teaches children how to count money and is appropriate for elementary aged children as young as six. The video not only tells the value of each coin, but I loved how the video tells about the people on the coins too. I thought it was neat that there was a brief history of Sacagawea (we just studied about her in my classroom). The video also tells how to differentiate between different coins. For example, the video shows how a quarter has ridges on the edge while a nickel is smooth. The video also includes updated coins. There are new nickels and new quarters that have come out in the past ten years or so. There are also the presidential dollar coins that are fairly new. I also like that the video includes half dollars and one dollar coins, even those are not as commonly used. The video also shows common bills used in the United States from the one dollar bill to the one hundred dollar bill.

The video teaches even basic concepts such as sorting the money so that it is easier to count. This might be something that a new learner would not even think about. If you teach this concept to start with, it makes it easier for the new learner to count up like change and then add it all up together. That’s better than having a child try to count a big handful of change. They will probably start to have trouble counting because the math of adding will get in the way. If they count in order, and use skip counting (which is taught in the video), they are more likely to pick up counting coins with no problem!

After introducing each of the coins and their values, the video gets into coin combinations. I think this video would be great to teach new learners about money. As a teacher, I would probably use segments of the video to teach a new concept. After a child masters each individual concept, then I would show the entire video as a review before I would assess.

I was just really impressed with the amount of information in the video. Of course, the video also shows how to use change to purchase items and how to figure out how much change you will get back. This video is great! It mentions some things I never even thought of before. For instance, do you know why the dime is our smallest coin? If you watch the video you’ll learn.

Buy it: Now, I’m excited to announce that I have the opportunity to spread the love of learning with you all with a discount code for 25% off dvds on www.RockNLearn.com. If you know me, you know that I LOVE sales. The code is SSA25, and it’s good until December 5th.

Win it: Rock ‘N Learn is giving me the opportunity to give away 1 copy to a lucky reader of my blog. Here is what you have to do to get your entries in.

Mandatory Entry: Like Rock ‘N Learn on Facebook

Extra entries:
+ Become a GFC follower of this blog

+ Follow me on twitter

+ Tweet about this giveaway! You can do it twice per day

+ Like me on facebook

+ Follow me on networked blogs

+ Enter another of my giveaways

+ Comment on any other post

+ Blog about this on your blog or website

This giveaway is open to residents of the U.S. who are 18 years or older. It will end on December 4th at midnight. The winner be picked via random.org and will be contacted via email. He or she will have 48 hours to respond or I’ll pick another winner. Don’t miss out on your chance to win!

This post may contain affiliate links. Read my disclosure policy for more information.

{ 57 comments… add one }
  • Brooke 11/17/2010, 6:54 pm

    >I like Rock N Learn on facebook(brooke comperchio)italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke 11/17/2010, 6:54 pm
  • Brooke 11/17/2010, 6:55 pm

    >I follow you on twitter@italiaangel80italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke 11/17/2010, 6:55 pm

    >I like you on facebook(brooke comperchio)italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke 11/17/2010, 6:55 pm

    >I follow on network blogsitaliaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke 11/17/2010, 6:56 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/4971172374511616italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke 11/17/2010, 6:57 pm
  • Nebraska Fillemans 11/17/2010, 7:32 pm

    >I like them on facebook!jtfilleman@cox.net

  • Nebraska Fillemans 11/17/2010, 7:32 pm

    >I follow you!jtfilleman@cox.net

  • Nebraska Fillemans 11/17/2010, 7:33 pm

    >I follow you on twitter!nefillemansjtfilleman@cox.net

  • Nebraska Fillemans 11/17/2010, 7:33 pm

    >I like you on facebook!jtfilleman@cox.nettonya stutzman filleman

  • Nebraska Fillemans 11/17/2010, 7:33 pm

    >I follow you on network blogs!jtfilleman@cox.net

  • Brooke 11/18/2010, 3:25 am

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/5099095492399104italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Susan 11/18/2010, 4:24 am

    >I like Rock N Learn on Facebook (susancdb)susan (at) cravingthesavings (dot) com

  • Susan 11/18/2010, 4:24 am

    >I'm a GFC followersusan (at) cravingthesavings (dot) com

  • Susan 11/18/2010, 4:25 am

    >I follow on Twitter (@CravingSavings)susan (at) cravingthesavings (dot) com

  • Susan 11/18/2010, 4:26 am

    >I like you on Facebooksusan (at) cravingthesavings (dot) com

  • Susan 11/18/2010, 4:26 am

    >I follow on Networked Blogssusan (at) cravingthesavings (dot) com

  • bukaeyes 11/18/2010, 12:09 am

    >I like Rock N Learn on Facebook (Betsy Hoff)bukaeyes@aol.com

  • bukaeyes 11/18/2010, 12:09 am

    >I follow on GFC as bukaeyesbukaeyes@aol.com

  • bukaeyes 11/18/2010, 12:09 am

    >I follow you on Twitter @bukaeyesbukaeyes@aol.com

  • bukaeyes 11/18/2010, 12:10 am

    >I like you on Facebook (Betsy Hoff)bukaeyes@aol.com

  • bukaeyes 11/18/2010, 12:10 am

    >I follow you on Networked Blogs(Betsy Hoff)bukaeyes@aol.com

  • Brooke 11/18/2010, 12:59 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/5243649004666880italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke 11/18/2010, 6:13 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/5322669595566080italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Indian Clothes 11/19/2010, 11:53 am

    >Eve that fashion is not a luxury but a way to express yourself . Sulbha brings to you the hidden treasures in ethnic and hippie women clothing from South Asia. We are here to make your shopping experience for traditional Indian Clothes, Pakistani and groovy hippie, 60's fashion, yoga & tantra clothing simple, easy & fulfilling.

  • Brooke 11/19/2010, 12:33 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/5599380518207488italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke 11/19/2010, 7:31 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/5704613009293312italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • nicole s 11/20/2010, 3:39 am

    >Like Rock'N'Learn on facebook.nicolesender@yahoo.com

  • nicole s 11/20/2010, 3:39 am
  • nicole s 11/20/2010, 3:40 am
  • nicole s 11/20/2010, 3:42 am

    >Entered your CSN gift card $35 Giveaway.nicolesender@yahoo.com

  • nicole s 11/20/2010, 3:42 am

    >Entered your Beecology Giveaway.nicolesender@yahoo.com

  • nicole s 11/20/2010, 4:11 am

    >Entered your Legacy Family Tree Giveaway.nicolesender@yahoo.com

  • Brooke 11/20/2010, 12:59 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/5968427512500224italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke 11/20/2010, 10:54 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/6118229663555584italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke 11/21/2010, 4:27 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/6383107410235392italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/21/2010, 7:39 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/6431414895513601italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/22/2010, 12:49 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/6690521284083712italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/22/2010, 7:34 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/6792549872173058italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/23/2010, 3:33 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/7094215309795328italiaangel80@Gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/24/2010, 12:30 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/7410581485129728italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/24/2010, 5:06 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/7480065881284608italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/25/2010, 1:35 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/7789382962515968italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/26/2010, 12:22 am

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/7952215675244544italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/26/2010, 7:32 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/8241628535853056italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/28/2010, 1:32 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/8875840108503040italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/28/2010, 4:45 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/8924248156413952italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/30/2010, 1:33 am

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/9419567566692352italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 11/30/2010, 7:12 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/9686139942215680italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 12/01/2010, 8:31 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/10068427959967744italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 12/01/2010, 11:32 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/10113828637380608italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 12/02/2010, 12:38 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/10311580902227969italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 12/02/2010, 11:51 pm

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/10481049746276352italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 12/04/2010, 1:34 am

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/10869375217176576italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 12/04/2010, 11:39 am

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/11021700795731968italiaangel80@gmail.com

  • Brooke C 12/05/2010, 2:57 am

    >tweethttp://twitter.com/italiaangel80/status/11252644844666880italiaangel80@gmail.com

Leave a Comment